Make that a double stump and add some snow

It finally happened today.  Three hundred forty-four days into the outdoor commitment and the Moment came. 

The Moment I had always feared.

I opened the door, walked outside, aimed the camera at…  Aimed the camera at…  Aimed the camera at…  And there was nothing interesting in front of the camera.  Nothing.  Not a darn thing.

Everything looked too ordinary to even focus the lens.  I peered everywhere.  Up close and far away.  Up close all you can see are the following:  dried reddish leaves, smatterings of snow, dried plants and flowers, leafless bones of trees and…  Well, that’s it. 

I marched down the road in a tizzy.  What to photograph, what to photograph? 

It was getting more desperate by the moment.  How can you write a blog when there are no photographs?  Why oh why have I put in five to seven photos a day recently?  What stupidity!  I should have only posted two a day, and then there would be plenty of leftovers to make it through the November/December stark days of gray and white.

I met our neighbor, AJ, a blog reader, on the road.  He was dressed in his hunter-orange jacket to avoid getting shot by errant guns during hunting season.  I was wearing red plaid.  (Why oh why didn’t I think to photograph AJ?)

“AJ, there’s nothing to photograph, nothing in the world!”  I moaned pathetically. “Everything has already been photographed!”

“Yes, there is,” he replied patiently.  “You could take a picture of the stop sign at the end of the road.”

(The stop sign at the end of the road?  The stop sign at the end of the road?)

But then he explained.

“There’s a gun hole through the stop sign at the end of the road. Somebody shot the stop sign.”

Now I suppose I could have gone up to the end of the road and taken a photo of that stop sign, but I was walking the other way and already planning a blog about how there was nothing to photograph.  We said our goodbyes and I continued my mental fretting, “There’s nothing to photograph.  I have photographed everything in this county for 344 days…how in the world to get through the next three weeks?”

Of course when I got home Barry then had to offer sixteen suggestions during the rest of the afternoon.  How about this?  How about that? 

So now I’m not stumped anymore but because the only available photo was a stump…

P.S.  And since the majority of readers tend to drop in on Monday, all I can suggest is this:  If you want to look at photos, how about review some of the older blogs?  As Barry just said, even Jay Leno has re-runs.

P.S.S.  Anyone else have any ideas?  Any outdoor adventures left undone?  Please?

