My little boy all grown up

My little boy all grown up

And exhausted.  Live in San Diego, but really really tired.  I was dreading writing this blog.  Truly.  Thinking “oh why oh why do I have to write a blog after we’ve walked for miles and miles and all I want to do is sleep even though it’s not even 4:30 in the afternoon…”

But I just uploaded the first photo and the Internet went zip-zip-zip and uploaded it in five seconds flat.  I am not kidding you.  It took five seconds to upload a photo.  At home it takes years to upload one photo.  OK, maybe three minutes.  But here in the Modern City of San Diego we have the luxury of fast photo uploading.  I am so happy that it woke me up.  Will probably even make it until dinner now.  🙂

OK, enough giddiness.  I am HERE!  With my oldest son Christopher who is 27 years old and in a sociology grad program.  He’s been here two years.  I thought it was three years, but he set me straight.  He’s starting his third year of his doctoral program.  We’re having a great time so far. 

First thing this morning we walked a couple miles to a coffee shop in University Heights.  There are marvelous palm trees everywhere.  Temps in the 60’s.  Mountains in the distance.  The Pacific Ocean to the west.  How cool is that?

Heed the sign

Heed the sign

It’s possible to upload photos so quickly I don’t even need to babble.  I could just upload dozens of photos for you to see.  (Except you slow-loading DSL folks would probably kill me, so will try to limit the photos to a respectable number.)

Imagine living surrounded by such beautiful flowers

Imagine living surrounded by such beautiful flowers

After our morning bagel with cream cheese and coffee we toured Balboa Park.  As some of you might know, Balboa Park is this huge park in the midst of San Diego.  Chris lives on the northern side of it.  We first toured the Cactus Park.  He thought that an admirable first Outdoor Adventure.  I had to agree.

Cactus and Sky

Cactus and Sky

I could show you sixteen different kinds of cactus.  Chris pointed out that everyone he brings to the Cactus Park photographs different cactus.  I wonder what that reveals about our personalities. 

After our cactus adventure we continued to tour Balboa Park.  We visited the Botanical Gardens and walked past many museums.  I liked the following quirky fountain:

Spitting water

Spitting water

Oh heaven knows what we did next.  We toured so many places.  Eventually we visited campus and then Black’s Beach.  The vista was amazing!  Hard-packed sand and cliffs and blue sky and the frothing ocean.  There were steps that lead all the way down to the waterfront.  But I think Chris took pity on me.  He said we would save that walk for another day.

Black bird soars over Black's Beach

Black bird soars over Black's Beach

Look very closely down at the beach.  See any interesting sights?  Chris says this is a Nudist’s Beach.  Isn’t that interesting?  Perhaps I will have some more interesting photos on another day.  NOT!!!!  (I’m not that courageous, yet!)

So we’re back at the apartment now and we’re soon headed down to the city for dinner.  He’s not making me walk all the way down there, good lad.  He knows his poor mama wouldn’t be able to make it home without assistance.  So we’re driving.  Here is a view of San Diego proper:

San Diego

San Diego

Hope this all made sense.  Jumbled tired jet-lag people should not write blogs.  They shouldn’t. 

See you all tomorrow!

