Pine cone

Pine cone

I am definitely not outside right now.  However, it’s questionable if I’m really inside either.  Airports are a nether-world, a strange world.  And so are airplanes.  We’re half-way between indoors and outdoors when we’re flying in those planes, high in the sky, the birds far below us.

Someone–maybe my son (whom I will soon be hugging in San Diego at about 12:30 Eastern time, although a spry 9:30 p.m. California time)–first introduced me to the concept of airports being a world in themselves.  Another reality, almost.  I am sitting now in a Chili’s restaurant, having just joined Boingo.  I suppose all you travelers already know about Boingo.  It’s a wireless network for which you pay $7.99 (I think.  I’ve already forgotten what I just charged to the credit card.)  And supposedly you get 24 hours of free Internet wireless at tons of airports world-wide.  But because this is a strange airport-world and not the woods, I really don’t know.  Anything could happen.

Red berries, blue sky

Red berries, blue sky

The photos were pre-loaded yesterday because I didn’t want the stress of trying to figure out Boingo and navigate this strange world of carrying laptop computers in your backpack…PLUS attempting to upload photos.  Maybe someday I’ll be brave enough to upload photos while traveling.  We’ll see. 

So.  Here’s the scoop.  I was the LAST passenger to board the plane in Marquette.  You kids, do you hear that? Your mama, who is always two hours early for the flight, almost missed this one.  Not because I wasn’t in the airport.  No.  But somehow I was so busy trying to figure out how to get connected to free wireless, plus talking to a local family picking up another family member for hunting season, plus chattering away to my daughter in Manhattan that I somehow missed the announcement for boarding.  Can you imagine?  This has never happened.

When I finally heard the low voice over the intercom, I noticed the waiting area was empty.  “Am I late or early?” I asked the friendly security folk who scolded me for including the mouse in the laptop screening.  Apparently the mouse and the cord must remain forever separate on the screening table.

“You are the last one on the plane,” the lady severely told me.

YIKES!!! 

 
Sweeping stalk of wild grass

Sweeping stalk of wild grass

OK, I just deleted a soothing bark photo, sorry guys.  And the battery keeps discharging and there is no electrical outlet in sight.  There are a million people around.  Sixteen of them are crowded around my computer at Chili’s, no kidding.  I have ordered something to drink and will wait for dinner until this darn blog gets published. 

To the heavens...

To the heavens...

So the flight was great.  I can’t believe how many lakes we have in Michigan.  Every time you look out the airplane window, attempting to peer around the wing, which is always in your way, you see yet another lake.  To get out of the Upper Peninsula you usually have to take a prop plane.  One of those propeller-planes with maybe twenty seats.  In the old days I remember being on bumpy tiny planes with maybe ten seats.  We’ve entered the modern ages, we have.

Very soon I will get on a plane bound for San Diego and travel five hours to the west.  Plans:  to sleep.  (You want to know a secret I haven’t told many people?  I take a Dramamine pill before flying.  Always have since that day in 1980 when the plane bounced up and down and the lady next to me kept sharing her secret chili recipe and…well you don’t need to know the details, do you?)

OK,  time to see if this will post in this strange airport-Boingo world.  And then to eat dinner. What shall I have? 

Oh P.S. I forgot to tell you about the Outdoor Adventure.  Excuse me.  Too much has happened today.  I walked freezing cold, having forgotten hat and mittens and warm coat with my thoughts completely absorbed in plans of San Diego, through the city of Marquette.  It was invigorating.  I am ready to be not quite so invigorated.

