When a tree falls down

When a tree falls down

OK, this proved a new outdoor experience today.  I lay in the crumpled on the cement in front of the house, crying like a baby.

Here’s what happened.  Barry came home from work.  I was half-way done with the outdoor adventure, pulling up carrots and kale and collards from the garden.  He returned home and I joined him inside, temporarily taking off my coat and shoes.  We shared stories of our day.  After catching up, still babbling away about something or other, I opened the door, walked outside, and…tripped on sunken blocks near the front door, twisted my ankle, bruised the knees and sobbed for at least three minutes lying on the cement.

Alas.  So many tears!  So much fuss!  Lying there in the fetal position feeling so hurt and injured and shocked and surprised and amazed.  How could I have fallen?  And, worse still, the rain spit down from the heavens, sprinkling its cold wetness everywhere.  I remember thinking, “It’s raining in my eyes.”

Barry kept begging, “Get up, Kathy, get up!” and I oh-so-slowly finally rolled to the side and limped up.  Darn!  This was not in the plans!  One is not supposed to fall, and specifically not supposed  to cry for three minutes.  But sob I did.  It hurt so bad.  For a long time.

The language poplar bark speaks

The language poplar bark speaks

So finally  I stopped crying and examined the scraped knees.  OK.  Everything is OK. No broken bones, no sprained ankle, nothing drastically injured.  We can survive this.  We can.  (Except for this headache which lingers and lingers…like the body thinks it’s in shock from the fall.)

I (a bit tenderly) finished pulling kale leaves off the stalk and carrots from their growing-place.  What large carrots uprooted themselves!  Have we ever had a year with this large carrots?  They almost look like grocery-store carrots!  I washed them off with the hose, gingerly leaning down.  Ouch!  Double ouch!  Will we survive this?

Time to get out of the rain…and certainly no new photography today.  I just wanted to get inside and make soup.  A blended soup with every kind of garden vegetable:  collards, carrots, celery, onions, other leftover goodies.  (With some arame seaweed and miso for added nutrition…yep, we eat strange stuff.)  But it tasted so comforting and soothing.  And I am going to watch the movie “The Proposal” and munch popcorn as soon as this blog is finished.  Maybe covered with a blanket as the woodstove warms the house…

Suspended in mid air

Suspended in mid air

Sometimes in life we trip and fall down.  And usually we get up and walk again.  We nurse our wounds and keep going.  Blessings today for all of us who fall…and all of us who get up and persevere (even if we cry for a few minutes).

