Autumn leaf on snow

Autumn leaf on snow

Yes, yes, yes.

We woke up to snow on the ground.  At least two inches of the white stuff on the cars and the deck.  Maybe one inch on the warmer earth.  We stared mesmerized at the beauty.  And caught our breaths as we walked outside into the freezing cold.  It’s Autumn in the U.P. of Michigan.  Snow can spread her white beauty on us any time it desires.

And it desired this weekend.

Snowman near Houghton

Snowman near Houghton

Remember how I blithely told you yesterday that the snow never stays on the ground in mid-October?  How it melts away so quickly? 

Mother Nature made me a liar within three hours after writing that sentence.  My visiting Mom and Dad, Barry and I headed up to Houghton to meet my nephew Doug and his roommate Gabe for dinner at the North Shore Grille.  We barely passed into Houghton County before we began to witness Snow on Cars.  Then Snow on Lawns.  Then snow–Everywhere.

When we spotted the above snowman, I begged Barry to turn the car around for a photo.  He is so used to this request these days!  He easily turned the vehicle around.  He, however, wanted me to walk up into the front lawn of the snowman-builder and take a picture with a red-leafed tree in the background.  I was too chicken.  I stood closer to the road, ready to make a get-away in case anyone came out of the house.

Instead, you can see another red-leafed tree surrounded by snow.  This is the scene to which we awoke this morning.

A dash of color in the snow

A dash of color in the snow

After we shared our morning coffee, I headed downstairs to dig out Grandma’s old blue snowmobile suit from the 1970’s from the closet.  Time for the snowmobile suit!  I pulled it over my pajamas, grabbed a pair of winter boots, hats and mittens and dashed outside for snow photos.  (It’s truly amazing how beautiful the first snow of the season looks.  Compared with the thirtieth snow of the season when all you want to do is buy a ticket for southern Florida.)

View from the deck just before searching for the snowmobile suit

View from the deck just before searching for the snowmobile suit

Oh how exhilarating it is to romp in the snow just after dawn!  (And later in the day Mom and I walked up the road for a good half hour…but by then every last flake of snow had melted and disappeared.)

Snow and grass

Snow and grass

It’s funny how quickly it melts.  One minute there is a white frosted snow-laced world.  The snow hangs heavy on the red and orange and yellow and green leaves.  Some trees lean over like hunched-back men, straining under the weight.  The white snow cleans and scours everything.  You breathe out a cloud of breath-smoke.  Your boots squish in the water-laden snow.

By noon, it’s all gone.  It’s a memory.  The cold north wind still blows frigid, but you’re suddenly back in autumn.  Thank goodness!  Stay away for another month, Winter, at least.  Please stay away.  We beg you.

Red-orange leaves heavy in the snow

Red-orange leaves heavy in the snow

I just asked my mom if she wanted Grandma’s snowmobile suit back.  I mean, maybe she was the one who gave me this precious object.  Maybe SHE wants to wear it downstate in HER backyard when it snows.  But she just stared at me dumbfounded with her eyebrows raised.  Guess she doesn’t want it back.  Maybe she thinks the neighbors would stare.  Guess I better keep it here in the woods…

And it all melts away...for now...

And it all melts away...for now...

Barry just said, “I think we need a picture of you in the snowmobile suit!”  I said, “TOO LATE!!!”

