Steer in the University of Georgia fields

Steer in the University of Georgia fields

Every day since Friday we have driven by the University of Georgia fields.  Interested car passengers can admire horses, sheep, pigs and cows.  My in-laws often point out a giant steer lumbering slowly along the right side of the road, back behind one of the barns.  “There’s Tex!”  they say.

Today someone suggested I might photograph the steer with his curving long horns.  Perhaps it was even I who mumbled something like, “Do you think we should have a photo of old Tex?”  Disclaimer:  Tex is not his real name.  My mother-in-law says his real name is a “sissy” name like Sugar or Honey or something. 

However it happened, I found myself out of the car and headed back behind the barn toward the fence.  Having completely pushed yesterday’s memories of the cow adventure out of my mind.  You think I would have learned.  STAY AWAY FROM COWS.   You might get soaking wet (it never stops raining down here) or shunned by the giant beasts or heaven knows what.

Today I leaned forward and snapped the rather long-distance shot of Tex and smugly headed back to the car.  Until…oowwww!!  Pain in the sandal.  I pulled off the sandal, fast and discovered…two very angry red ants.  Biting my tender northern skin.  Alas.  No more photographing cows.

State Botanical Gardens

State Botanical Gardens

Instead let’s go to the more tame state Botanical Gardens.  Marion and Jim dropped me off with instructions to phone them on the cell when either a) I was done touring the grounds or b) it started raining yet again.

Bronze statues part of a display called "Recess"

Bronze statues part of a display called "Recess"

This is not the first time I’ve stood before this collection of statues.  My mother-in-law just informed me it’s called “Recess”. She remembers that because she was an elementary teacher.  The following photo is dedicated to her (and to all of you readers who are teachers.)

Teacher

Teacher

On to the gardens.  You can choose several different areas to explore. There are the following gardens:  International, Native Flora, Flower, Shade and Heritage garden.  Plus special collections. 

I kept a wary eye trained at the horizon and monitored the sprinkles.  You have no idea how much it’s rained down here in the past week.  People are getting flooded out in northern suburbs of Atlanta.  After years of drought, the heavens have opened up and rain continues to pour.  Wonder if anyone has thought of building an ark… 

But, pardon this mental rambling.  I’m wandering in thought beyond the flower and plant photos.  Now you shall view a handful.  And since there are so many, you’ll see more tomorrow.  PLUS a photograph of something I’ve been stalking all summer.  Stay tuned for that find tomorrow!

Oh, pretty!

Oh, pretty!

Splash of red/orange flower

Splash of red/orange flower

"Flying Dragon" Hardy Orange

"Flying Dragon" Hardy Orange

P.S.  I called my father-in-law to drive the five minutes over to the botanical gardens and pick me up.  We got home and guess what?  Pouring rain!  Splashing drenching earth-soaking pouring rain!  Guess that’s no surprise to any of us…

