See the deer on the red earth?

See the deer on the red earth?

Hello.  Yawn…  OK, I’m in Georgia.  Yawn again.  3:30 a.m. came mighty early.  But what an uneventful two flights through the friendly skies.  First we landed in Detroit.  Then Atlanta.  Then a shuttle transported three of us to the Holiday Inn in Athens.  Where my father and mother-in-law waited in their car with hugs all around.  Here!  What a delight.

Twisty vine

Twisty vine

After a cup of tea and short nap (I fell asleep for forty minutes like a dead person) I scurried outside for the day’s outdoor adventure.  Headed out their back door and ventured into the woods.

It’s hard going in unfamiliar woods.  You need a compass, or a keen eye on the sun’s angle.  You don’t want to venture too far from the house.  And you certain don’t want to step on any Georgia rattlesnakes.  Oh no.  Not any southern lazy rattlesnakes lazing on the earth. So you keep your eye trained very carefully where your feet want to travel.  You will not step on a rattlesnake unwittingly.  You will not.

About five years ago, on another visit to Georgia, a long sleek black snake decided to crawl up near the house.  My father-in-law and I spotted it.  We shooed it off, promising not to share this particular information with the rest of the family who might be more nervous about long black snakes.  My daughter lay her beach towel in the sun near where the rat snake previously slithered, and I stood watch during the time she lay innocently basking.  No snake would get her! 

"Farmer Brown" with Crepe Myrtle tree

"Farmer Brown" with Crepe Myrtle tree

Deer pranced in the back, looking a bit different from Michigan deer.  There was black by their tails.  Squirrels played.  The woods sounded with insects and August trills. 

Encore azalea

Encore azalea

I toured around the house, letting the camera capture the flowers and bushes and trees.  When I arrived earlier today it was raining.  This area has been experiencing a drought for about four years, and it started raining this week.  The ground is eagerly soaking it all in.  The weather forecast for the next ten days looks like this:  Scattered Thunderstorms, Scattered Thunderstorms, Scattered Thunderstorms.  We’ll see if it does anything but rain during my time here.

Magnolia bud and leaves

Magnolia bud and leaves

Two family members called/emailed to say:  “We heard it was a flood zone in Atlanta!”  It may have been, but somehow I avoided it.  The shuttle drove through some rain, but by 5 p.m. my mother and father-in-law and I were sitting out on their patio sipping a glass of wine and swapping family stories.  It is so nice to see them again!  They are the best in-laws in the world, hands down.

My in-laws Marion and Jim

My in-laws Marion and Jim

I told them right away:  we need a pic of you guys for the outdoor blog.  They didn’t look too enthusiastic.  “But didn’t you like seeing photos of my mom and dad and brothers and nieces and nephews and kids?”  Ha!  What could they say?  Of course they liked that.  So their picture was taken so you all can see what lovely folks they are.

What else?  It’s 8:34 p.m so bedtime must be approaching within a couple hours.  I wish the rest of the family could be here, too.  But am grateful for this opportunity to spend a few days in Georgia.

P.S.  Guess what?  You’ll never believe it!  I hooked up to FREE wireless Internet up there in the friendly skies somewhere straight above Tennessee.  How fun!  It was a little restrictive with Miss Ellie (the laptop) on that tiny shelf and me yawning and really wanting to snooze.  But I couldn’t turn down the opportunity to explore cyberspace from “almost” outer space.

