Picnic table overlooks Lake Superior at Five Mile Point

Picnic table overlooks Lake Superior at Five Mile Point

‘Twas a leisurely morning at the AmericInn motel in Calumet.  I really liked that place.  The folks were so friendly you kind of wanted to move in for good.  It was nearing 9:30 a.m. before the Buick chugged up US 41 aimed indirectly for Copper Harbor.

However, like on all good driveabouts, the car had a mind of its own.  It knew where it wanted to go.  It was driving along to the north, nice and easy, and suddenly it veered to the left toward a sign which said “Five Mile Point”.  You all know how exciting this is.  Suddenly you wake up and pay more attention.  You’re on a road where you’ve never traveled before.  Oh my, what sights to see!  (I did, I admit, check the map to make sure the car didn’t have to turn around and backtrack.  I don’t like backtracking. It brings out the worst in me.)

So the car and I leisurely reached Five Mile Point, along the western side of the Keweenaw Peninsula.  Then I departed Ms. Buick and went exploring at a local roadside park.  The rocks and water were waaaay down there, so I didn’t venture too close.  But look at the exciting find at the Point:

A baby mouse!  What do you know!

A baby mouse! What do you know!

I started making up this huge exciting (rather sad) story about a lil toddler who lost this mouse.  One minute he or she was clutching the prized creature tightly while mama (or daddy) tightly clutched baby’s hand.  The next minute…the stuffed mouse fell to the ground, face down.  Lost.  Lost perhaps forever to the toddler who cried and whimpered in the car seat and daddy went back to try to find it…but, alas.  Gone.  I moved the mouse closer to the picnic table for some other three-foot high child to find.  Or maybe this very child will return!  And there will be the mouse, waiting, waiting, still waiting to be loved and hugged and cuddled once more.

Ahem.  Excuse me.  Let’s get back in the car and drive on.  To Jacob’s Falls.  And some of you, I’m sure, know what’s at Jacob’s Falls, right?  But first let’s pause to view the falls.

Jacob's Falls

Jacob's Falls

See, the best thing about a driveabout is that you actually get OUT of the car to view the falls.  We’ve probably driven by these falls maybe eight times in our tours of the Keweenaw.  We’re always on a mission.  Got to get here.  Got to get there.  On a driveabout, you are led.  You are moving so much more in synch with spirit, outside of obligation.  You pause by the falls and the lake and the lighthouse, getting out of the car at least a dozen times during the day.  Sometimes you just sit and watch the waves.  You have no itinerary. 

That’s what makes it special.

Society of St. John monk selling really good jam and muffins at the Jam Pot

Society of St. John monk selling really good jam and muffins at the Jam Pot

OK, I told a big fib in that last long paragraph.  There kinda was a rough itinerary.  And it involved stopping at the Jam Pot.  Because they make and sell such delicious baked goods and home-canned jams and jellies.  Oh yum.  I don’t know how anyone could drive by this place.  The monks belong to a Catholic monastary here along the western Lake Superior shore of the Byzantine Rite.  I could probably try to explain it, but go here to read more about them.  Or click here to read about life in the monastery. That interests me tremendously.

The church with its golden steeples (they might not really be gold, but they look like it in the sunlight)

The church with its golden steeples (they might not really be gold, but they look like it in the sunlight)

They also tend lovely flower gardens, through which I wandered for a short while.  Autumn is fast approaching here on this penisula which juts out into the Big Lake; many of the flowers were starting to wane.  My favorite was this escapee.  It wound itself through the fence, bringing beauty to an unexpected place.

Pink

Pink

I have just written almost 700 words and it’s not even lunch time on the driveabout.  Instead, if you peeked inside the car at this moment you would see me nibbling (well, munching steadily!) a bran cranberry delicious muffin which the monk assured me was low fat.  Yep, right.  He actually said it was lower fat than the others.  Those were his exact words.

I will show you one final photo and you shall have to wait ’til tomorrow to hear of my fun at Fort Wilkin’s State Park in Copper Harbor.  You’re guessing correctly.  It was a time warp, a back-in-time adventure to the nineteenth century. 

Back to a time before cars, before anyone ever heard of a driveabout. 

Eagle Harbor Lighthouse

Eagle Harbor Lighthouse

