Look at Kitty out there in Lake Superior!

Look at Kitty out there in Lake Superior!

I believe some of my companions today uttered the word “wimp” because of my refusal to swim in The Big Lake last night.  They couldn’t understand.  They would not have hesitated.  They would have jumped in readily.

Today I joined Sue, Kitty and Mary up in the Copper Country.  After a leisurely breakfast in Laurium, we headed for the Calumet Waterworks for some beach time.  Specifically, rock hunting.  And swimming, for those with courage and fortitude.

Kitty proved to be the one with the most fortitude.  Look at her out there!  She gets the award of the day, hands down.  Sue and Mary were pretty soaked in their venture for the most beautiful and unusual rocks of the day, but I never saw them actually swimming.  Maybe after I left they dove in.

Sue and her underwater camera

Sue and her underwater camera

Sue had the craziest camera I had ever seen.  You could actually put it under water (no, that is not a mis-print) and take photos of rocks and underwater creatures and toes.  I wonder how the camera batteries and electronics survive when dunked. 

Mary hunting for just-the-right rock

Mary hunting for just-the-right rock

The above photo is how we looked during our stint on the beach.  Hunched over, eyes trained on the clear water, seeking the most fascinating stones we could find.

And the temperature.  It felt almost WARM.  Yes.  How could this be?  I mean, I wasn’t inspired to go swimming.  (Especially after last night’s failed attempt.)  Yet after you wandered up and down the stretch of beach, the calf-deep water felt lovely.  I have to eat my words about Lake Superior’s frigid temperature.  Today it almost…almost…qualified as not frigid.

Rocks

Rocks

I brought home maybe twenty rocks for strategic placement outside.  Sue kept eyeing my bucket.  You could tell she wanted it.  She’s a rock hound if you’ve ever seen one and could have easily filled the bucket with a hundred stones.  However, I couldn’t just give it to her.  It was Barry’s boating bucket. 

Would you have picked up this rock?

Would you have picked up this rock?

Or this one?

Or this one?

I admit to a small preference to green rocks.  They look so exotic.  Not your run-of-the-mill rocks.  I kept asking Sue “Is this an agate?  Is this an agate?”  She kept shaking her head and trying to explain what an agate looks like.  She said you would know if you found an agate.  You wouldn’t have to ask.  You would just know.

I didn’t find one.

Along the shores of Gitchee Gumee...

Along the shores of Gitchee Gumee...

It was indeed a lovely way to spend a few hours on an August Sunday afternoon with the temperature still near 80 degrees.  It was nice to visit with Sue again, and to meet her daughter and friend. 

And now I have a better attitude about Lake Superior.  Swimming may still happen this year.  It just might.

