One of the most unique bogs in the Great Lakes, honest.

One othe most unique bogs in the Great Lakes, honest.

I am one day behind in reporting outdoor experiences.  The letter to Mother Nature yesterday took precedence to actual occurrences.  So we shall re-wind the tape, back up, and pretend it’s yesterday.

Here’s what happened yesterday.  I stopped by the empty beach and took photos.  Then suddenly spotted The Bog.  The Bog across the street from the Beach.  What’s a lady to do?  Obviously, tramp on over into the bog and take a look.

Bogs, as everyone knows, are mostly unapproachable without waders.  Boots, at the least.  I wore sneakers and jeans.  Why not attempt to enter? Would the bog let me in?

The answer was:  Yes!  And No.  It let me in for about ten feet.  I followed ridges and jumped from high spot to high spot.  But then it seemed like too much work to advance further, so I decided to peer down and see what treasures the bog contained.  A friend of ours referred to this bog as one of the “most unique bogs in the Great Lakes”.  Wonder why?

What a unique plant!

What a unique plant!

There are rumors that prize wild orchids grow here.  Flowers and plants rarely found elsewhere.  I am so curious about the identity of the above plant!  My “Michigan Wildflowers” book refuses to identify it.  Here is another view, in case anyone else knows the Secret Identity:

And what do you think...?

And what do you think...?

I saw a deer bounding into the fringe of woods which surround the bog.  Glimpsed birds chattering and calling.  Would have loved to wander deeper and deeper into the depths, but alas.  A rainstorm was gathering.  Thunder grumbling.  Time to go home.

So I drove home, and upon reaching our porch spotted this moth.  It seemed to be missing part of its wing.  I apologize, but needed to prod it, seeing if a damaged-wing moth is capable of taking flight.  The answer is YES.  The moth fluttered up to the sky.

Moth on front porch

Moth on front porch

Now we’re caught up to today.  But let’s continue the Weird Creature theme.  I went picking raspberries and thimbleberries down the road.  In between stuffing my mouth and filling a yogurt container, found this fungus-like mushroom-like creature growing on the soil:

Almost looks like something from Outer Space.  Except it's very ordinary.

Almost looks like something from Outer Space. Except it's very ordinary.

And, finally, a Spider.   

It was eating a raspberry.  It looks like Miss Muffet sitting on a tuffet.  I have never known that spiders are lunching on our raspberries and thimbleberries before we get to them.  I had to prod this one, as well, to see if it was alive or dead.  Answer:  definitely alive.   It’s a good reminder to wash our berries before eating!  But I paid no attention and continued to stuff the delicious berries into my mouth…

Spider eats raspberry

Spider eats raspberry

