Azaleas!

Azatleas!

 Before I start sharing about Nancy’s gardens, we have a little blog housekeeping to do.  First of all, today has been 179 days since the beginning of this outdoor commitment.  Hurray!  It’s going well (except for that evening in Munising at 9 p.m. in the rain last week.  That was a challenge I’m still remembering…)

Second, the contest to give away a free nature book ends this Sunday, June 21st, the anniversary of my six month commitment.  Anyone still wanting to enter should click here and make a comment.  Doesn’t have to be a fancy comment.  Just a comment about one of your favorite experiences in nature.  Otherwise, one of the winners will be Cindy,  Amy, Melinda, Gerry, Emma, Margo, Deb or Sahlah.  Good luck, Participants!  It makes me so happy that you’ve entered.

OK, on to Nancy’s Magic Gardens. 

Garden Bride and Groom

Garden Bride and Groom

I’m calling them “magic” because they are soooooo relaxing.  Here’s what happened this morning.  Nancy called me at work with excitement in her voice.  The azaleas were blooming orange and beautiful in her front yard.  I should stop and take a photo.  They truly were magnificent.  (Nancy is so in love with flowers and gardening.  She gets that soft note in her voice when she starts talking about flowers blooming.)

Last winter we did a photo shoot at her house, admiring the gardens covered with snow.  Anyone who didn’t view that blog can click here and remember the days when the first winter-melt arrived back in February. 

Tricycle in the garden

Tricycle in the garden

She was headed to work, but she invited me to stop anyway on my way home from work.  So I pulled up and started snapping photos.  Then, decided to sit in one of her garden chairs.  And sit.  And sit.  It felt so peaceful.  The birds chirped, distant wind chimes rang, bees buzzed on flowers.  The scent from the blooms smelled magnificent.  Suddenly I felt very very drowsy…

Oh doesn't it look like you could snooze here, too?

Oh doesn't it look like you could snooze here, too?

Now I really should call her and ask her the names of these flowers.  I haven’t a clue.  What is so appealing about her gardens is the way she mixes in the flowers and the human decorations.  Aren’t the bride and groom way cool?  Isn’t that trike the sweetest thing you ever saw?  Every time you turn a corner there’s something interesting to intrigue the eye.

Beautiful yellow flower

Beautiful yellow flower

Part of me would love to create gardens like this.  Filled with natural spiritual signs and symbols.  Filled with wind chimes and rocks and shells and flowers and art.  But, so far, I haven’t the patience.  If a spare moment presents itself, I would rather scribble together sentences and paragraphs. 

Lavender flower (somebody really should identify these beauties)

Lavender flower (somebody really should identify these beauties)

In the meantime, Nancy’s the gardening queen.  And she’s creating lots of magic…

