I'm HERE!  That means MANHATTAN!!

I'm HERE! That means MANHATTAN!!

Guess what?  I opened the door and walked outside today in the big and beautiful and crazy and magnificent New York City!!  Our daughter has been living here since January and it was time for a visit.  The planes flew from Marquette to La Guardia airport in record time yesterday and I was sipping coffee at a local Starbucks around the corner from her apartment when Kiah returned home from work.

Shah, from Pakistan, was my taxi driver.  He taught me all about New York City between La Guardia and Gramercy. I’ve been quoting Shah ever since.  Kiah says I need to make more friends in New York.

 

Yoga photo shoot at Madison Square Park

Yoga photo shoot at Madison Square Park

Last night we walked to Angelica’s Kitchen and dined on exquisite vegetarian food.  Today we have been hoofing all across Manhattan and, boy, do my feet feel it!  I think we walked at least six miles.  Kiah says we walked three.  We left the apartment at 10:30 a.m. and didn’t return until 4:30 p.m. when we fell exhausted into bed for a nap.

Here’s where we went today: the Flatiron Building,  Madison Square Park,  Soho for lunch, the Pickle Shop on the Lower East Side, Canal Street, down Broadway to the Financial District (Wall Street, the New York Stock Exchange, the bull), the construction area where the World Trade Center once existed, and Battery Park where we allowed our gaze to linger on the Statue of Liberty.

 

Flatiron Building

Flatiron Building

The Flatiron Building is considered to be one of the first skyscrapers ever built.  Such a fascinating design!  Like a classical Greek column, so they say.  “I found myself agape, admiring a skyscraper — the prow of the Flatiron Building, to be particular, ploughing up through the traffic of Broadway and Fifth Avenue in the late-afternoon light.” – H.G. Wells (1906)

 

 

The bull and...me

The bull and...me

It is really a lot of work to step outside in the city.  One can walk many more miles along avenues and streets than in the woods.  In the woods the pace is slower.  You linger.  You meander.  You don’t necessary hoof it for mile upon mile.  I am always humbled by these visits to the city.

It is so exciting!  There is so much energy here in NYC.  Here are some statistics:  one to two million people in Manhattan, eight million in New York City and 22 million in the surrounding areas.  It’s hard not to gawk at everything and everyone.  

In the woods you look in a quieter way and look deeper.  Here there’s so much to see the eye doesn’t know what to follow first.  My camera took almost one hundred photos.  It’s hard to decide which ones to post.  And I suppose each day we’ll find one hundred new sights to photograph.  What’s a photographer to do?

 

Hey look at the Statue of Liberty through that star!

Hey look at the Statue of Liberty through that star!

Another thing which impresses me about this city is how QUICK it takes to upload these pictures.  At home you start to upload a photo and there’s time to go wash half the dishes.  (ok, a slight exaggeration, but you get the idea.)  Here it takes less than a minute.  It’s such a cinch to write this blog!  Guess that’s one of the disadvantages to living in the middle of the woods…

 

My beautiful daughter

My beautiful daughter

We have two more busy days planned before I fly home on Friday.  Isn’t it exciting to be experiencing an outdoor adventure in another wonderful place on our planet?  Hope you guys enjoy this as much as I am!

