The bud creature waves at you

The bud creature waves at you

It’s been 127 days of this outdoor commitment.  And today was HARD.  I was enjoying spending the time indoors writing a short story (OK, it was a weird short story, but I was writing it, all right?) and there was so many other intriguing things to do.  For one, read.  For another, mess around on the computer.

Outside it was raining and dismal and cold.  I did NOT, I repeat, did NOT want to go outdoors.  The commitment aspect reared its ugly head and defied me.  But, I went.  Opened the door, walked outside…and really enjoyed a half hour wandering following a small stream through a ravine. 

The slight headache dissolved, the mourning doves cooed, the grouse beat their wings rhythmically and the rain drizzled.  I repeat, for the hundredth time, do not believe your mind.  Go outside anyway.  You’ll enjoy it after the first ten minutes or so.

Dried wildflower impressionism

Dried wildflower impressionism

How do you like the art photos here?  First the strange little budding creature!  I gasped when I saw him, his arms outstretched, speaking some sort of spring-language we can barely understand.  Then the dried wildflowers tried to imitate Monet.  I think they succeeded.  What do you think? 

I think it’s amazing what you find when you go outside.  Every single day it’s a surprise.  Thank goodness for that!

Bright green fern in the ravine

Bright green fern in the ravine

