Melted ponds in forest reveals underwater greenery

Underwater greenery in forest pond

Lately I sense the Earth is trying to teach me something that I’m not hearing.  She’s trying to whisper in my ear but I’m too preoccupied with thoughts about “having an outdoor adventure” or pre-writing this blog or trying to capture just the “right” photo angle for the day.  And I’m missing something important, something vital.

It’s so cold and windy.  Barely 32 degrees.  (Remember in mid-winter when 32 degrees felt like a heat wave?)  Today I dressed in two pair of pants, heavy jackets, big boots, warm gloves and hat and began to wander rather unenthusiastically. 

First, I passed our slate pile in the woods.  Several miles away there’s an extinct Slate Quarry which operated from 1870-1892 as the Huron Bay Slate Company, and then again in the 1920’s under the direction of Henry Ford.  Perhaps a hike up there in warmer weather might prove intriguing.  All that remains are piles of waste slate and a water pit.  Locals have foraged for pieces of slate for decades.  We’ve utilized pieces in our entrance-way, and once used them as decorations against our house, until we planted a perennial garden a couple years ago.

Slate rocks tossed helter-skelter in pile in woods

Slate rocks tossed helter-skelter in pile in woods

Further along, a log presented itself for sitting.  It’s always nice to find a good sitting-log.  Fortunately, it rested in a ravine, out of the fiercely-blowing wind.  Then the sun peeked through the clouds!  What an immediate mood-lifter.  I sat.  And sat.  And sat.  And sat.

Oh it felt good to just sit.  I feel like what the Earth is trying to say is this:  Come outside for a longer time.  Come outside all morning.  Or all day.  Just drop all of your concerns and thoughts and just follow your feet around in circles, or down by the bay, or across the woods.  Come outside and just wander.  Don’t set a time limit.  Don’t rush back into to the computer.  Just relax into the Silence of nature for a longer period of time.

I answered, “OK, yes, but can I wait until it gets a little tiny bit warmer?”  The Earth didn’t answer, but I’m sure she must have said “yes, if you must”.  (I’m sure that’s what she replied, aren’t you?)

Weird tree (or, rather, a bush) in the woods

Weird tree (or, rather, a bush) in the woods

Do you ever feel like that tree?  Kind of like your trunk or branches are snaking around in circles or odd directions?  I’ve been kind of feeling like that this past week or so.  That’s why it might be a good idea to just take a break from the usual routine and dedicate some time to really sinking deeply into this outdoor experience.  Not just for a half hour or hour.  But for an extended stretch.

I did learn something new the other day.  Something very obvious and basic. Probably everyone else in the Universe knows it already.  How can you spend 51 years on this planet and miss some obvious and basic things?  With some embarrassment, here goes.

I learned that ponds sometime reflect the color of the sky.  That their usual water color (clear, brown, tan, blueish) can become fiercely vibrant blue when the sky above shines vibrant blue.  It wasn’t until the camera captured this phenomenon that my heart momentarily stopped and my eyes looked, truly looked, at the bright blue pond in the middle of the woods.

Sky and pond are One

Sky and pond are One

Amazing!

