Meet Mr. Bee.  We're staying inside the rest of the year.

Meet Mr. Bee. We're staying inside the rest of the year.

I’m done.  The door is locked. Not going outside any more.  It’s over.  What’s it been…102 days?…forget it.  No way I’m going outside again.  Ever.

Mr. Bee and I will just sit here in front of this computer for the next 263 days.  Maybe forever.  Or I’ll sit on the couch and just…vegetate…or maybe meditate.  Or maybe both.

Since I’m not going outside ever again, you’ll have to look at indoor photos.  Indoor photos which depict the outdoors.

Exhibit A:  Our Christmas cactus (which does not know it’s not Christmas due to all the snow and cold) is blooming.

Perfect bloom, yes?

Perfect bloom, yes?

Exhibit B:  Just look at how we decorate our house!  If you’d like to add one to your home, please go outside and look for wasp-departed nests.  You’ll know after the first hard frost arrives and the paper wasps leave.  Once you’ve figured it out, use them for decorations.  The neighbors will be impressed (or dismayed).

How did the bird get inside on top of that wasp's nest?

How did the bird get inside on top of that wasp's nest?

Exhibit C:  Feathers in hollowed pine knot found in woods.  Remember the gift of peacock feathers we received this winter?  The special “eye” found its way into this decoration.  The spotted fellows are from guinea hens. Can’t wait to see what feathers appear this summer!!  (oops, no, um, I mean…forget that…I am not going outside again this year.  Really.)

Many splendored feathers

Many splendered feathers

Exhibit D:  OH I CAN’T DO THIS ANYMORE!!  It’s a JOKE.   APRIL FOOLS!!!  It’s a joke, really.  I wouldn’t give up on this outdoor commitment.  Promise.  Cross my heart.  (to the best of my ability to comply, anyway…) 

I almost couldn’t write this because I DO NOT like April Fools jokes very much.  But Barry and I have been laughing about writing this for a month or so now, and just as I was ready to abandon it…not wanting to scare you all or anything…he convinced me to “write just a draft, and we’ll see”.  So now the draft’s written and there’s NO WAY I’m writing another one. 

So…April Fools!  (was anyone fooled?)  Of course I went outside today.

The other reason I had to quit this tomfoolery is because…guess what!  Behold Exhibit E! 

The first definitive robin sighting.  Hurray!  They're really back!

The first definitive robin sighting. Hurray! They're really back!

