I have absolutely nothing to report today.  Nothing is happening outside the front door.  Zero.  Nada.  Nothing.

My creativity has dried up and hibernated with mama bear in her den.  The camera lens refuses to capture anything interesting.

What’s outside here in the northernmost reaches of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula?  Snow.  Cold.  More snow.  More cold.  OK, do you want another picture of snow?  How’s this one just outside our house?  See the house window?  Do you think we have enough snow?

Cabin fever blues...snow...more snow...

Cabin fever blues...snow...more snow...

Sigh.  There’s people all around the area suffering from a seasonal affliction aptly called “Cabin Fever”.  It means we’re ready for spring.  More than ready for spring.  (Except maybe the ice fishermen, and I’m not talking to them anymore. )

What did Jimmy Buffet say in his song Boat Drinks?  “This morning I shot six holes in my freezer.  I think I got cabin fever.  Somebody sound the alarm.”  This is a real malady for some folks.  We hear stories about people doing crazy stuff during March.  So-and-so becomes wild and unpredictable and does something entirely wacko. 

Cabin fever is considered a claustrophobic reaction occurring when a person is isolated or shut in for an extended period of time.  In modern terms, it might be a distant relation of  Seasonal Affective Disorder, which afflicts a certain percentage of the population.  The lack of sun and warmth can slowly (or quickly) sabotage the system, causing real depression, lethargy, sleepiness, irritability and forgetfulness. 

I don’t think I’m suffering from either Cabin Fever or Seasonal Affective Disorder, especially this year.  But when I walked outside today, it felt like my creativity had packed up and gone south.  How to take photos?  How to post a blog? 

How about ice crystals close up?  sigh....

How about ice crystals close up? sigh....

In ordinary years, I am most desperate to take a vacation this time of year.  The Outdoor Commitment has mitigated that, somewhat.  I’m still plotting my next adventure outside the state, but Cabin Fever isn’t the culprit.

Not only that…I refuse to believe myself whining that there’s “nothing” outside.  Just wait until tomorrow!  Just you wait!  I’m sure there will be 600 new and exciting things to discuss, pictures to take, animals to stalk, shadows to admire, landscapes to view, people to meet, places to go…

Otherwise we may need a new freezer.

Just kidding!

